top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

Twelve Valentine’s Dates

Image source: FUBA

I was honestly not sure about what to do on Valentine's Day. Okay, that is a lie. I will have class all day and basketball practice. So yeah, I was sure. I just don't want to feel lonely this Valentine's Day. I know my friends will be getting their gifts and messages. I will probably spend the evening watching Tyler Perry's Sistas and cursing how men are trash! Or women are trash too…I don't know. Wait, why am I lamenting?


You know what? I am honestly joking about my Valentine's Day. I know I have a date. I am very expectant. Only that I don't have the two dollars that Afromobile charges per month to watch all sports all day. I think I know what I want for my valentines. Gift me the USD 2 subscription fee for the Afromobile App. I am unsure if Usher Komugisha or Joy Olinga read my blogs, but in case they do, please tell FIBA to broadcast the games on YouTube. I have waited ever since the games were announced in January. I want to cheer on my country's women. I want to watch the "BEASTESSES" from the East.

Image source: FUBA

I actually have a date on Valentine's Day. At first, I was worried about the UGX 20,000 (USD 5.4) that FUBA had planned to levy on me to meet my date. I am glad I am not broke alone. Fellow "broques" joined in to lament on social media. The next thing I knew, I would be charged only UGX 10,000 (USD 2.7) to meet my date. How blessed am I that my date will come served on 6-course meals? Unlike most lovers who celebrate only Valentine's Day, I have been blessed to have my date from the 14th to the 19th of February. Send me my bouquets already!


For the first time in my 22 years of existence, I will finally get to go on a date on Valentine's Day. I hope to meet Flirsh Flavia and proclaim my never-ending support for her. I am carrying my new white shirt and a marker as I need Bridget Aber's autograph. I have ironed my clothes for the 6 days to ensure I am photogenic when I meet Hope Akello. I just bought a vuvuzela; every 3 pointer shot made by Ritah Iman must be celebrated. You know what? I sound like a flirt. But I can't help it. I have a date with 12 talented girls. Come on, look at this; I will finally get to meet Leticia, a whole fitness model. First hold my beer!

Worth the date. Image source: FUBA

I can't help but avoid the thought that the other girls from Kenya, Rwanda, Egypt, and South Sudan wanted my attention. Unfortunately, I give attention only to the best. It's time for the Gazelles to shine! It's time for the women to show everyone how it's done. The last time my date venue was congested was when the boys from downtown had a face-off with the uptown boys. I hope to have a record-breaking date. I am not a jealous lover; you are all invited to my date. Don't get lost; just type MTN Lugogo Arena into the Safe Boda app. You can also ask the boda guy to take you to where Chameleone's show was supposed to take place. You will not get lost once here.


I have a valentine's date. Let's support the women's national basketball team, the Gazelles, as they compete in the FIBA Zone 5 games Afrobasketball Qualifiers from 14th - 19th February at the MTN Lugogo Arena. 


205 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page