top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

The Dreams, The Expectations, and The Shortcomings

So apparently, the Federation can’t afford having the National women’s team, the Gazelles, participate in the Afrobasketball qualifiers (Sniffs a bit). I envy the men’s basketball. I really do envy the Uganda Men’s National basketball team. They don’t have a commission, but they have not missed out on any tournament. You see, a former teammate gifted each player a new pair of shoes the other day only to arrive in Egypt, and COVID-19 cut short their dreams. Wait, did I say cut short? Sorry I meant, gave them another chance to go home and come back when the camp is healthier and more robust. I really envy the men’s national team. I am not sure if there is a surgical procedure that will let me play on their team.

Apparently, FIBA Afrobasketball qualifiers for women were expecting the Uganda women’s team, the Gazelles, to participate. A few sports bloggers who care to write about women’s sports excited us with the new squad. You see, it feels good to see your “coffee” friends make it to the National team. Since we can’t make it to the WNBA, Europa, or Italia, our greatest shot is the National team. Oh boy! Even at the National level, you still can’t get to play the leagues you dreamed of. The other day I confided in Vanie concerning my thoughts on the decision by the Federation. After a whole ranting and tongue-twisting, she smiled and said,

” You can feel disappointed but don’t be surprised.”

It reminds me of the tales. Shoot for less as a woman. Aim for the clouds, leave the stars for the other gender. The gizzards are for the boys…or that jazz. You see, it’s unfortunate that we have a group of ambitious girls. Laeticia has worked her ass off every morning for hours at the Makerere Main ground to make it to the National team. Maybe what Hope didn’t do was pick up at pool court with the likes of ….. If I am ranting too much, tell me. You see, I sweat my ass off (like literally) looking forward to the day I will wear jersey number 5 with our national flag embroidered, not printed (or the Gazelles jerseys have a printed flag…I am up for correction)…whatever…that red jersey or whatever color they will choose to customize it with…and have my name written in the books that I represented the country. But when I look at the current happenings…hmmm, best I retire my jersey and hang it in my father’s sitting room as a reminder his daughter once had a dream.

You see, when Mr. Lugoloobi was motioned to read the national budget for the year 2020/21, he came just to confirm the rumors of the 8 bn cut from sports. That must have been our share for women sports. I am not sure if women athletes are on the vulnerable people’s list for the 100,000 ugx ($27) but in case they are, kindly send my share as a contribution for the women’s basketball team.

Anyway, all the best to the Men’s National Basketball Team that has gone to participate in the FIBA Afrobasketball qualifiers. We are surely rooting for you. You see, the Federation has high hopes in you gents, the ladies can keep playing NBL or Division I…for what do we care.

You can be disappointed by my article but don’t be surprised.

Image source: FIBA Support Women In Sports

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page