top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

Sounds Like a Symphony


A scene from the Sound of Music Musical. Image source: Panola


"The Hills are alive with the sound of music,

With the songs they have sung for a thousand years." 

The lead actress, Maria, choruses in the school auditorium. 

The music feels clean and pleasing to my ears. It is a cold, chilly evening in the small town of Carthage, Panola. Alongside two friends, we are seated at the far right corner of the auditorium, watching the Sound of Music Musical performed by the school choir.

After a long week of school and basketball, all that the mind and body sometimes deserve is time away from anything sports. My friends and I were amazed at how much the actors and actresses could sing live and sound so angelic without any auto-tuning or voice effects added to their acts. 

This wasn't the first time we were listening to euphoric voices today. With heads held high, patriots holding their chests, seemingly paused breaths, gentlemen's caps taken off to expose their bald heads and white winter hair, and eyes twinkled as we all faced the white red-striped flag with fifty stars to honor the star-spangled banner. A tradition that has been carried on for decades to honor and respect the National Anthem.

It felt different today. I suppose because I have always dreamed of that day when I would officially play my first Junior College basketball game. I can't place a measurement on what my dopamine pathway felt like today. It was a mixture of joy and anxiety. It's one thing to dream and another to live your dream. I could feel imposter syndrome kicking in, but again, the anxiety reminded me that it was real. It reminded me of those days when I longed for a coach to look at me. It reminded me of the hours I spent on my knees talking to my Father. It reminded me of days I would jog on the streets of Kulambiro, Kiwatule, Najjera, Bulindo, and around Makerere. It reminded me of the pick-up days I would walk miles from Najjera II to Kyambogo, the days I would run after a pick-up game from Makerere University main grounds to Kabira Country club because I couldn't afford the transport fee. It reminded me of the days I saved my last shilling to buy basketball shoes. It reminded me of the first day I tried out basketball. It reminded me of when no team felt I could be a great addition. It reminded me of hell week in the name of conditioning. It reminded me of the impossible mile. It reminded me of the days I asked myself, "Naye nfaki." It reminded me of the PRESENT. It was the moment. It was actually me in Jersey number One, and nobody else! 

As the beautiful, fairly aged lady intonated every word of the US National Anthem, I was lost in the moment for a while. I was lost in thoughts. My mind soon drifted back to reality in a flash, and for a bit, I was confused about whether the anthem was a recording or someone singing. To my surprise, it was a lady singing. Indeed, it felt different. 

Fillies 2023 - 2024

As the gym's atmosphere shifted to a game mood, so did I. The First game of the Panola Fillies 2023 - 2024 Junior College Women's Basketball was now set to be in the books. But was I ready to be in the books? I bet I was. It so happens that I still have a lot to learn, yet again, I came along with valuable cargo for the team. I loved every bit of being on that bench and every second of stepping onto that floor. 

Chanting, "D - up…", "Get the reb...", "Defense…" and cheering my teammates felt just as great as whenever I stole the ball from the opponent. The tradition of standing to welcome each teammate back to the bench when they have been substituted feels like we are a respectable group of Marines that are getting a standing ovation as we arrive from the long sea escapades. The excited jumps and high fives on the bench when a teammate drops a three-pointer reminded me of the loud fireworks blast at the St. Louis Cardinals stadium when Paul Goldschmidt homered against the San Francisco Giants. Watching the coaches do their basketball math and coming up with ways to see the team register a win for the first game was a great moment. 

Today's game felt like I was listening to Glorious by One Children's Choir. The words;  

"It's like a symphony; just keep listening

And pretty soon, you will start to figure out your part

Everyone plays a piece, and there are melodies

In each one of us

Oh, it's glorious." 

Kept ringing in my mind. Oh well, I am still listening, and pretty soon, my part will be outrightly figured. I couldn't feel any less proud of myself to realize that I played a piece to create a melody with my teammates. 

It is just game one, and I can't wait to see what the rest of the season will look like. I was humbled today by the individuals in different locations who watched the game. The friends and family that stayed awake in Uganda despite the nine-hour time difference to watch my first game, surely you all deserve cows (Read it like a Munyakole father-in-law braggingly announcing that he is giving cows to the family-in-law at an introduction ceremony "Nabaha ente"). I am highly indebted to everyone who spared their precious time to turn in and watch the game. 

….

"Sounds like he is lying." My friend to the left whispered to me. 

I smile back as she has just woken me up from a writing session in my mind. I turn my attention back to the play, and clearly, I can tell Maria is falling in love with the Captain. I wonder what Maria will tell Reverend Mother when she returns to the Abbey? 


Naye nfaki: Luganda expression that is usually used at a breaking point, especially when giving up seems like the best option.

Nabaha ente: Runyakore-Rukiga word to mean "I have given you cows.” Maybe used to show how pleased someone is with something or someone.


86 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Aloysius Kayita
Aloysius Kayita
Nov 24, 2023

I have really read and followed every details... Thank you for the beautiful article

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page