top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

Shoes

I was blessed to be one of those famous kids in high school for various reasons, ranging from my strong Rukiga accent to my sports abilities. This singled me out from lower-class students who needed connections with my classmates. Because of this, I was introduced to the business of selling sweets while in school. By Senior two, I was the resident sweet seller of my class, working under someone else, so my commission wasn't that much, but it was enough for a first-timer in business at school. I recall I saved 40,000 UGX which I wanted to use to buy myself a pair of basketball shoes. While joining high school, it was compulsory to report to school with a pair of sports shoes. My mother had bought me a second-hand Kappa pair that I used to their last stitch.

When my interactions with the school court increased, I was delighted to see the senior team members take an interest in me. My hopes of joining the team came true, but I still lacked a good pair of shoes. I used to admire the shoes worn by the senior team, and I was excited to buy myself a pair. The coach also drove the need for a good pair, who considered non - basketball shoes to be 'dancing shoes.' Sometimes, he'd send you off-court because of inappropriate footwear. As soon as the holidays came around, I moved from stall to stall at the market, bargaining to the best of my abilities, and by the time school started, I had my first pair of basketball shoes. Unfortunately, by Nationals, they were worn out. Last year, I watched from afar as Score Beyond, a non-profit organization, led a campaign to buy shoes for girls in Northern Uganda in anticipation of forthcoming tournaments and camps. The joy of owning a good pair of shoes and a great initiative centers around a seemingly minor issue. Seeing girls' teams from St. Mary's Kitende and St. Noa Mawaggali looking smart, clad in their tracksuits and shoes, causes one to have a mix of admiration and awe, with a pinch of envy. Those who have played or witnessed “village football” understand the pride held by a team that can suitably give all its players boots. Just a reminder; each year, I have successfully managed to demolish 3 - to 4 pairs of shoes beyond repair. A shoe with a worn outsole is as crucial as a new shoe as a rubber tire can be added as you plan your finances (a few can relate).

When your daughter decides to join sports, the least you can do as a parent is support her. I recall the theme of the hockey team 2017 at my school, “Where the weak are eaten, and the cowards are killed.” Harsh! That is the exact description I will give you for the sports field. So the last thing a daughter would require from you is a discouraging voice. Your support can stream in different ways. Become her number one fan. Become her number one cheerleader. Become her number one sponsor. You may not be available fully to watch her train or participate in a competition, but you can be her number one motivator. The institutions or teams we play for don’t fully fund or even don't fund all the materials we need, such as sports attire or shoes, or equipment. Consider sponsoring her for the required equipment or her needs. Sports is still a world that many argue to be for the boy child, blindly eliminating the proven beauty of the girl child. Let's talk about confidence,

or let's chat about friendships, or let's present a wealthy mind and healthy body, or let's sort the different opportunities available for your daughter. I believe there is a direct correlation between the attitude of a parent and the daughter's performance. Either it motivates or derails her engagement. The fruits of sports don’t ripen overnight,

and they are non-dependent on how impatient or thirsty one is to see them. We can argue that we have the lucky, blessed athletes who will get recognition effortlessly; however, another athlete will only get the required attention in a year or more. Some people may not even get past the District level in sports! The issue shouldn't be how high they have played but the discipline they exercise and other skills such as teamwork, self-regulation, and personal development

derived from sports.

They say education has dramatically reduced the number/occurrences of early pregnancy, but sports is the suitable ingredient to add to the mix needed to prevent early pregnancy. 'Hats off!' to parents fearlessly supporting the wildest dreams of your daughters in sports. The results will soon manifest, and at last, the pleasure will be yours. Support women/girls in sports.



Support Women in Sports

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page