top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

One-on-One: Ritah Imanishimwe

As mother's day comes to a close, I have always desired to interview a few individuals in relation to my blog. I took advantage of Mother’s Day to have my first interview typed. I reached out to the silent court assassin. Neither uncontested nor poor defense won’t go unnoticed if she plays against you. It beats one’s understanding that she is barely two years back from the maternity ward. I had a one-on-one chat with Rita Imanishimwe, mother to twins and a seasoned player in the National Basketball League.


Tell us about yourself.

I am Ritah Imanishimwe, a Mufumbira from Kisoro. I am the 6th born of 8 girls. I graduated from Uganda Christian University in 2018 with a Bachelor’s degree in Mass Media Communication. I am a proud mother of twins. I play for JKL in the National Basketball League.


We would like to know about your basketball journey.

I started playing while at Crane High School. I was in my Senior One at that time. I sometimes played in sandals and on bare feet in my first year (her mind seems to rewind to memories). I was at Crane High School for all my six years of high school. I was blessed to get a sports scholarship in my s2 (smiles widely), and ever since then, I have never had to pay tuition. After my Senior Six, I was scouted by Uganda Christian University (UCU). I joined UCU in 2014 as a bench player in my first year (laughs at this). After that year, I broke through into the starting five or first substitute (her face brightens up as she says this). I was there for three years before joining JKL Lady Dolphins, where I currently play.


So you are a mother in sports, right?

Yes, I am a proud mother of twins.


How did you react when you first found out you were pregnant?

I was very excited (she smiles widely).


How did your teammates take in the news of your pregnancy?

I received lots of congratulatory messages. I feel like everything stayed normal. I don’t think there was any change in attitude with my teammates. They remained cool, and we still bond even after becoming a mother.


How did your coaches react to your pregnancy?

Thumps up for my coaches (laughs about). Some people get biased by the whole issue of one becoming a mother. They imagine retirement for you even without your prior knowledge. One journalist put up an article and claimed that I wouldn’t play again for the next two years.


How did you cope with the pregnancy? Were you working out or playing actively while pregnant?

Luckily, the league was called off as we were in the COVID-19 times. This gave me personal space and time, and I spent most of my time with my family. Once in a while, I would go and shoot.


What was the postpartum period like?

It was beautiful. I started light workouts like taking walks in the neighborhood, and simple stretches three months post-giving birth. Gradually, I started gyming at four months. After nine months, I was back on the court. Tougher than before (scoffs a bit).


Has having children affected your performance?

(She laughs at the question) Honestly speaking, it has been the best thing that happened to my game, I must say. I love how I play.


What lessons did you draw from this whole experience?

Workouts and consistency don’t lie. I realized consistency doesn't lie looking at my game before I got pregnant and after giving birth. Before I got pregnant, I never really gave myself time to work out and get better, but after I gave birth, I had no choice but to put in so much work, and I am glad it is paying off.


If you were to form a starting 5 for the National team, which players would you list (both men’s and women’s teams)

I can give you the men’s team but not the women’s team. Let’s skip this question. Okay, I will provide the men’s team. I would field Jimmy Enabu or Bale Fayed, Tonny Drileba, and Okello James. Oh, plus Ivan Lumanyika. I am not sure about the rest. I have selected from our local league, excluding the International players.


Any message for mothers in sports

To the mothers, it is a beautiful thing to be a mum in sports. You can only embrace it by becoming better in whatever sport you do. This is not to prove people wrong about the perception that mothers cannot thrive in sports but for self-fulfillment.


Happy Mother's Day


Ritah (Left) at the recent 3X3 Women's Tournament with her teammates.

53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page