top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

Jack of all Positions

When I joined a Rwandan team as a shooting guard/point guard I was very frustrated by the fact that I was pushed to play as a small forward regardless of my effort to prove that I was a great player as a shooting or pointing guard. During Covid 19 lockdown, my personal training aimed at growing my skills as a point guard/shooting guard with little input for a forward when posting. However, even with joining a new team, I was still pushed to the forward position. This made me get into conflicts and arguments some times with my teammates as I occasionally pointed the ball, leaving the person in charge useless on the court. Slowly by slowly, I adjusted to my new role, and I am doing great. When the game gets tough, I am still trusted to point for the team once in a while. A friend reached out to me and he was very frustrated with his coach. He felt like he was being made to play the coach’s game, not his game. He believed his performance wasn’t as outstanding as when he played his game. He is told to post and rebound all game, yet he believes he can do the driving.

This frustration is actually a normal feeling that happens to every athlete. We all believe we can explore our potentials best if left to play certain positions. During my active football days, I played as a midfield center back, but if faced with a team with poor defense, I would be pushed to play as a striker, while when faced with a solid striking I would be moved to the defense. I believe this happened per the game situation and the game reading of the coaches and her allies.

A couple of times, we shall face this kind of situation while trying to fit in our respective teams. It will definitely cause you frustration and conflict with the coach as you both have conflicting opinions about which position you should play. There is always a comprehensive view that the coach has about you which is completely different from what you view yourself as. However, remember, one of the great attributes of a great player is to be coachable. The era of playing basketball where the tallest automatically plays the big man, and in descending order, the shortest is the point guard is gone. We are in an era where efficiency is treasured over comfort. Whether you are six feet and above you are expected to shoot, drive, post, and rebound. If you have mastered your game, a switch in position shouldn’t worry you as much. Rather it should be embraced that you have a quality most players lack; fitting in any position on the court. It is actually an opportunity to grow your game and increase your versatility as a team player. Just like a coin has two sides, most definitely this may not apply to all positions, such as switching a striker to the goalkeeping position. Or we can’t get Denis Rodman as our point guard and push Curry to the forward position. However, the post moves used by a big man can definitely be applied by a forward. The coach has a rich experience about the game, and him/her trusting you with the position to which, she or he is pushing you to bring out more of your potentials. If you are not performing best in that position, chances are high that you can be switched to the position you most definitely will benefit the team.

TIP: As a player, refrain from the language, “my game”, as it will mercilessly destroy your profile. The coach will field you and give you enough playing time if you play as per his/her instructions. Keep “your game” for pick up days.

Support Women in Sports


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page