top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureElizabeth Nagudi

Dear Canary Mugume

Okall Ariel aka Th3 Doctor of Namuwongo Blazers lays up against Tony Drileba of City Oil


Dear Canary Mugume

Yesterday the most trending tweet in Uganda was "Book me a seat"

It reminded me of my high school days when we would have wars over the booking of seats

Canary, yesterday evening was a joyous evening at the MTN Lugogo indoor arena

The National Basketball League was coming to an end 

I was amazed by how University girls managed to carry their 8th trophy beating the reigning champions

Yesterday evening the street chicken roasters in Namuwongo took a break to witness their boys play against the Cafe Javas boys

It was an uptown girl versus downtown girl kind of game


Canary, when my neighbor sneezed, we could barely catch our breath for the next couple of minutes

The day's guest of honor was choked behind trophies and had to tilt his head at angles to watch all the action

The windows, which are the only source of fresh air, were fully booked out as seats

Canary, the fans were sweating more than the players

The games were scheduled to start at 7:00 pm, but by 4:00 pm, all seats had a bag or water bottle on them

By 5:00 pm, the courtside was fully stacked like bees in a hive

I saw the Women's Commissioner sweating from continuously requesting the fans to keep their feet away from the court


Canary, the athletes, delayed executing plays because they were falling among the fans 

This is probably one of the reasons Namuwongo lost

The men's game was scheduled to start at 9:00 pm 

But it started 30 minutes late

Now look here, Canary, athletes are great timekeepers, and you know that

The game was delayed because the fans were adamant about leaving the seats for the City Oiler's technical team

The bouncers, the police, and the Federation leaders all came to convince the fans to move

But where did they want the fans to go?

The capacity of the arena is 800 fans, but Canary, in yesterday's games, had over 1500 fans in attendance.

A chair was shared by two or three fans depending on one's size

Canary, the referees, barely had running space by the sidelines; they occupied the athletes' space on the field

This reminds me, Joan came at 6:00 pm and was offered a seat in the gardens outside the arena to watch the games on NBS Sport

Instead, Joan should have saved her transport money and bought internet data to live stream the game from home

But even NBS Sport was finding it tough to capture the game as there was no space for camera rotation

I couldn't access the bathrooms as I had to jump over fellow fans 

The thought of using poorly maintained facilities scared me off as well


Canary, I felt like I was watching Lebron  yesterday

Deng blocked Enabu on the board

Okall thwarted Drileba

Azurlibe dunked!

For a second, I saw Kobe in these players

It is the beauty of sports

But I couldn't celebrate all these good plays

I was crammed among the fans

Any movement caused discomfort to my neighbors

Furthermore, my chair lost its nuts

Standing up to celebrate could cost me a seat

Probably John could pick it as I cheered a play well executed


The heavens know how much the Federation tried

They brought those Mukwano-made plastic chairs along the courtside

They hired bouncers to ensure the athletes didn't get any disturbances

They put a tablecloth at the guest of honor's table

They served the guest of honor, Castle Lite, in glass buckets

The FIBA referee Commissioner was available fully clad in a suit

I was scared he would run out of breath as the tie was tightly tied, and there was barely any circulation of air


The Federation tried

Canary, the size of State high school gym in the USA is the size of our National arena

For a gym that serves a State is serving a Nation

We use four residential-sized doors to enter and exit

The ceiling is wrapped in bedsheets to absorb the heat and create an ambiance

The VIP section has just an inch of leg space added


Canary 

Yesterday the most sent message amongst the elites of Uganda was "Book me a Seat"


Canary you should have been there!

683 views6 comments

Recent Posts

See All

6 Comments


AKOROMWIGURU MARIUS
AKOROMWIGURU MARIUS
Nov 16, 2022

I have always missed this. I am glad that today I have come to learn about these writings. You're exceptional

Like

nyongayen
Oct 16, 2022

Wow!

This is one of the best analysis and writing I have ever read, having experienced the "book me a seat"slogan . However this should reach the national council of sports, Uganda needs an Arena not that one ventilated-room .

Like

Aupal Emmanuel
Aupal Emmanuel
Oct 15, 2022

Wow , I have read the Story . It's Really a Great One. It's Exceptional

Like

Lamara Purity
Lamara Purity
Oct 15, 2022

I like the write up. I know the message was sent

Like

noela25497
noela25497
Oct 15, 2022

I can't help laughing at the repetitive mention of Canary through out the entire read. Which reminds me of the simple statement; "Repetition is Emphasis".... Thank you for the amazing work #BigFoot. We do need a better accommodation for the next seasons ahead so we can express every ounce of exhilaration for the Sport.

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page